If you’re on a gluten-free diet, then the answer to that question is probably yes. But if you’re not, then it’s likely that all of your favorite foods contain some amount of gluten in them. That means pizza rolls are not safe for people with Celiac disease or other forms of gluten intolerance. But what about those who aren’t required by their doctor to avoid this food?
Is there anyone who should eat pizza rolls when they can be eating something else instead? The answer is yes! Here are reasons why you should try our delicious frozen snack today.
- 1 Are pizza rolls gluten free?
- 2 Where is serving gluten free pizza rolls?
- 3 Tips for making a good pizza rolls
- 4 The ways to make the gluten free pizza dough
- 5 Ingredients and substitutions
- 6 Benefits of a gluten-free diet
- 7 FAQ
- 8 Conclusion
Are pizza rolls gluten free?
Well… no. Unfortunately, most varieties of pizza rolls are not gluten-free. Pizza rolls can contain all sorts of things that would make them unsafe for someone with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance/gluten allergy to eat, including wheat flour.
Another people said that pizza rolls are gluten free. They are pre-made dough that has cheese and pepperoni baked into them (or other toppings), then frozen and shipped to stores to be reheated when you buy them. No homemade dough is used in the preparation of these items.
So, Are pizza rolls gluten free? Follow our blog to know exactly.
Where is serving gluten free pizza rolls?
There are some brands of gluten-free pizza rolls available on the market. These are ideal for anyone who needs to eat gluten free, but still loves their pizza roll treats!
- Enjoy Gluten Free Pizza Rolls
The first pizza roll product that is certified gluten free by GFCO, Enjoy Gluten Free Pizza Rolls are made from rice flour and tapioca flour and are available in four flavours: Cheese, Garlic, Margherita and Pepperoni. They can easily be frozen to keep for months.
- Celeste Gluten Free Pizza Rolls
A new brand on the market is Celeste Gluten-Free Snacks & Baked Goods , an organic company that produce a variety of gluten-free products, including their own line of gourmet pizza rolls. They are available in Garlic & Cheese, Sweet Chili Chicken Pizza Rollers and Pepperoni Pizza Rollers.
- DiGiorno Gluten Free Pizza – Digiorno pizzeria!
These are new to the market are are not currently available in Canada, so you must use the freezer trick. They are now available in all Target stores throughout America.
Try searching for gluten free pizza rolls on sites like Amazon , Walmart and Canadian Tire .
Tips for making a good pizza rolls
What makes a good pizza roll and how to avoid ending up with a soggy, gooey mess. First of all, the dough has to be rolled out very thin – if it isn’t, there won’t be any room for the filling and the rolls will be very thick and big.
Big, thick rolls are a bad idea because the moisture from the filling won’t be able to escape and they’ll end up soaked through.
Yes, soaked! Water and oil don’t mix (see: Oil and Water), so if you add some kind of wet ingredient like meat sauce, tomato sauce, veggies or fruit – a very moist filling – to a roll that’s not thin enough, the liquid will stay trapped in the roll and it will be soggy.
Pizza rolls have to be cooked properly as well. A lot of people just put them on a baking sheet and let them cook in the oven for 20-30 minutes at 200°C/400°F, but that’s not the way to do it.
The problem with this method is that all of the moisture and oil will stay locked inside and the rolls will be soggy and oily on the outside too. You can’t just put them under a grill or in a pan either because they’ll stick to the pan or burn on the outside before they are cooked through.
The solution is to cook them in dry heat so that all of the moisture evaporates, leaving just enough oil for browning and crisping up the dough. This means cooking them at a low temperature, around 150°C/300°F – and leaving them in there for as long as it takes.
This is why I like to use a toaster oven – they go up to 150°C/300°F and heat evenly, so you don’t have to keep turning the rolls or checking on them. As long as they’re thin and dry, this method will cook them through beautifully. The rolls made with this method are thin, crispy and not oily at all – just the way they should be.
I’ve seen a lot of people making pizza rolls with puff pastry instead of regular dough. That’s also not such a good idea because these guys are full of gluten which acts like glue when it is heated up, making the rolls very chewy and thick.
Pizza crust is traditionally made with wheat flour, but you can use gluten-free flour instead to make your pizza dough. You might have to add a little bit of xanthan gum or guar gum so that it holds together better when rolled out. But once it cooks up in this fashion, it’ll be thin and crispy with a crusty outside.
The ways to make the gluten free pizza dough
Some say that the Pizza Hut pizza roll dough is gluten free. If you need a homemade option, here’s a recipe for a really tasty crust. It can be used in all sorts of recipes for breads and buns – in fact, it’s my new favorite recipe!
Ingredients: 4 cups (480g)
- 1 cup (160g) brown sugar
- 3 tablespoons (24g) active dry yeast
- 2 cups (475ml) warm water (about 95°F or 35°C)
- 4 teaspoons (19.5g) salt
- 6 tablespoons (84g) butter, melted
To make the dough: Combine all of the ingredients in your bread machine according to manufacturer ‘s instructions. Set bread machine for the Dough cycle (or Manually). If using a stand mixer, combine ingredients as above and knead on medium speed until dough is smooth and elastic. Transfer dough to a lightly greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and set aside until doubled – about 1 hour. (This recipe makes enough dough for two large pizzas, so you’ll have extra.)
The Weight Watchers-style gluten free pizza dough recipe
Tearhe Weight Watchers-style gluten free pizza dough recipe off pieces of dough and roll into balls. Place on a tray, cover with plastic wrap, and allow to rise again – about 45 minutes.
Preheat oven to 475°F (246°C).
Flour surface for rolling out pizza dough. Using a floured rolling pin, roll each ball into an 8″ round.
Transfer the rolled-out dough to a baking sheet or pizza stone.
Spread 1 teaspoon of sauce on each round, leaving a 1/2″ edge around the outside of the dough blank. Top with about one tablespoon of mozzarella cheese and some toppings of your choice.
Bake in preheated oven until crust edges are golden brown, about 10 minutes.
Ingredients and substitutions
This recipe is perfect for those who can’t have dairy. Since there are a few different types, they’re easy to replace with others if needed!
To replace the dairy-containing Greek yogurt in a Weight Watchers style pizza dough, see my gluten free recipe for pizza dough. It’s all there and will work every time you make it! You can also use my basic but delicious recipes if needed—they never disappoints.
You can use vegan mozzarella in place of the diced mozzarella on your pizza rolls. Daiya is a fantastic brand, but Violife also melts well and does not have an overwhelming smell when cooked with oil-based cooking sprays like olive or vegetable oil. Mixing together 1 eggplant + splash milk will create this non-dairy alternative!
Benefits of a gluten-free diet
A gluten-free diet is used to treat celiac disease, also known as celiac sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food. Common symptoms include abdominal pain, diarrhea, skin rashes, unexplained anemia, fatigue, joint pain and irritability.
If you have an allergy to gluten but do not have celiac disease, a gluten-free diet may improve certain health conditions . Individuals who experience headaches after eating wheat often report some relief when they switch to a conventional gluten-free diet . Scientists are studying new treatments for headache disorders based on diets designed to help people avoid specific substances that trigger their symptoms. If you are lactose intolerant, gluten-free diet may help you digest regular milk products.
In a gluten-free diet , carbohydrates must be balanced with alternative sources of fiber and nutrients . This is because many gluten-free products are higher in fat and calories while containing less fiber. To prevent weight gain, aim for a mix of naturally low-fat/low calorie foods such as fruits, vegetables and whole grains that also provide other vitamins and minerals . In addition, using gluten-free flours in recipes that replace the wheat flour normally used can add variety to your meals.
Are totinos pizza rolls gluten free?
Yes! Totinos pizza rolls are probably one of the most popular brand of pizza rolls. They come in three different flavors: cheese, pepperoni and supreme. These snacks meet all gluten free requirements and can be found at almost any grocery store that sells frozen foods such as walmart, costco, krogers, safeway etc. They are also very cheap which is great for those on a budget.
What is the main ingredient in pizza rolls?
Pizza rolls are stuffed with a layer of pizza sauce, cheese and pepperoni.
However, you’d be surprised to know that the first ingredient is not any of those three.
The main ingredient in pizza rolls is… flour! Flour can’t possibly be healthy for you, right? I knew it… Pizza rolls aren’t very healthy.
Do pizza pockets have gluten?
This is the question many people are asking, because they’re wondering if pizza pockets would be considered gluten free. Pizza rolls contain flour, so you can expect there to be gluten in them. Not every brand of pizza pocket contains gluten, but it’s always best to ask first before eating any product that may contain gluten.
If you look up ” do pizza pockets have gluten” you’ll see all sorts of results.
Most of the time, companies don’t bother to print whether or not their products contain gluten in the ingredients list. If they do, but in tiny font; it’s easy to miss. It would be best if you could call up customer service before eating anything that may contain gluten.
It’s important to check the ingredients on a package before you buy. If it says that the product is made in a facility with wheat and other gluten-containing grains, then it may not be safe for Celiac Disease patients or those who suffer from gluten allergies. Be sure to read labels carefully when shopping so you don’t get something that will make your stomach hurt!